RussiaUkraine Conflict The Countries Supporting Russia And The Countries Supporting Ukraine

As the conflict between Ukraine and Russia rises, the world has been separated into two parts for the first time since the end of the Cold War. While some countries are using a diplomatic approach, many other countries have chosen their sides in this inevitable war. Some have decided to side with Russia while others have offered a hand of support to Ukraine. Let’s see which countries are supporting Russia and which are helping Ukraine in the ongoing war.

Countries supporting Russia in the Russia-Ukraine Conflict
* Nicaragua is the first country to offer its support to Russia. Nicaragua’s President Daniel Ortega lashed at Ukraine for provoking the war by asking for NATO membership.
* Armenia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, and Belarus which were earlier part of the Soviet Union will obviously take the side of Russia in this ongoing conflict.
* Cuba, a close friend of Russia, also extended its support to President Putin.
* Iran blamed NATO for the crisis and supported Russia. The Iranian Foreign Minister, Hossein Amir Abdollahian, said, “The crisis is rooted in NATO’s provocations.”
* North Korea‘s supreme leader Kim Jong Un came openly in Putin’s support and demanded the US to cease its hostile policy for isolating Russia.
* Syria is in favor of Russia as Putin supported Bashar Assad, Syrian President in 2015.
* Venezuelan President Nicolas Maduro expressed open support to Russia by saying the country would have “powerful military cooperation” with Russia.

Countries supporting Ukraine in the Russia-Ukraine conflict
The NATO countries – Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, the United Kingdom and the United States fully support Ukraine. The United States and Britain have emerged as the biggest supporters of Ukraine.

Germany and France have recently tried to defuse the controversy by making a speedy visit to Moscow. Germany halted approval of the key Nord Stream 2 pipeline and other Western nations issued sanctions.

Japan, South Korea, Australia, Canada are all supporting Ukraine and have imposed sanctions on Russia after it recognised Ukraine’s two provinces of Luhansk and Donetsk as independent countries.